Certificate in Systems Analysis

Certificate programs offer working professionals an opportunity to increase their knowledge and skills in the specific areas of information technology. A certificate representing proven academic performance is presented after the required coursework is completed with a GPA of 3.0/4.0. All 500-level courses may be later applied toward the Master of Information Technology and Management, Master of Cyber Forensics and Security, or Master of Science in Applied Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics for those who apply and are accepted to the degree program. Applicants should have a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university; the degree need not be in an information technology or a computer-related field. Prerequisites may be required for some courses in certificates; these prerequisites will not be applied to the certificate.

This program is designed for students seeking knowledge that will prepare them for a career as a systems analyst.

The prerequisite path is for this certificate is completion of coursework, training, or certification equivalent to ITM 311(Beginning Java), ITMD 510 (Intermediate Java), and ITMD 321 (Introductory Database and SQL). Equivalent certification may be PCEP – Certified Entry-Level Python Programmer, or Oracle Certified Associate (OCA) Java Programmer; and Oracle MySQL Database Administration, or Oracle Database Certified Associate, or Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA): SQL Server.


Required Courses (12)
ITMM 571Project Manangement for Information Technology Management 13
ITMM 572Process Engineering for Information Technology Managers3
ITMT 531Object-Oriented System Analysis, Modeling, and Design3
Select a minimum of one course from the following:3
Modeling for Decision-Making3
Application Development Methodologies3
UML-Based Software Development3
Human and Computer Interaction3
Software Testing and Maintenance3
Consulting for Technical Professionals3
Total Credit Hours12

Students who have already completed coursework, training, or certification equivalent to ITMM 571 may substitute a fourth course from the above list.